Tags

I got the inspiration for the recipe of this amazing vegan soup from bodyrock.tv. But their version was using meat and dairy and so not quite as healthy and great as mine :p !

Ginger Carrot Soup

For 2 huge portions you will need:

    • 1 tbsp peanut oil
    • 1 small onion
    • a thumb thick piece of ginger root
    • 1 tsp Thai curry
    • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
    • 4 carrots
    • 300ml rice- or soymilk
    • 300ml light coconut milk
    • juice of 1 orange

Directions:

Heat oil in a pot (or wok), roast the diced onions and ginger, add the seasoning – cut the carrot in big pieces and put them also in the pot, let it broil for about 2 minutes and add the milk, stir in the orange juice. Bring it to broil and reduce the heat, let it simmer until the carrots are soft.

Remove the pot from the stove and let it cool down for a while – put the mixture into a food processor and let it mix until the soup has a smooth consistency.

And as side dish I had:

Daikon Carpaccio

Simply fine sliced daikon sprinkled with olive oil and salt & pepper.

Great dish, anyway I shouldn’t have eaten it so short before my Tae Bo class. My stomach was rumbling a bit. Exercise was brutal and intense and I got a pretty bad muscle ache in my backside from all the active squats we had to do. I really should go to this class more often!

