Tags

,

Lunch with my best friend is always fun. She is the kind of girl who looks pretty on a chair watching while you cook šŸ™‚ and I enjoy cooking for her, because she is the opposite of picky and gives everything a try – she is also easy to satisfy and happy with nearly everything I served her so far.

So Wednesday after a relaxing hour of Pilates I decided to give the raw zucchini pasta a try. It was spooking around my mind for a while and I wanted to make a kind of healthy pasta salad.

Raw Zucchini Pasta Salad

  • 2 small yellow zucchini
  • 1 tomato
  • small carrot
  • some dried mu’err mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro
  • 1 tbsp sweet chili sauce

Broil the mu’err with cooking water. Then peel the zucchini and carrot completely in long pasta like strings, dice the tomato. As soon as you are done with that you should wash the mushrooms with cold water until they cooled down. Put all the ingredients in a bowl, add the cilantro and sauce and mix well. – Done!

I should mention that the zucchini and carrot I used were organic, if you buy ordinary ones you better peel the skin of first.

Another dish I really wanted to try for a long time (since I purchased her book) was Alicia Silverstone’s Braised Daikon. I couldn’t get any Mirin, so I just braised it in water with some Korean alcohol for cooking (my flat mate uses it for meat dishes) and soy sauce plus afterwards I garnished it with some sweet soy sauce, which fitted it really well. And I was pleased how it turned out.

Finally the tofu, which is a dish my flat mate introduced me to.

Oven Roasted Tofu

  • 200 gr fresh tofu
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • dried basil & oregano
  • salt & pepper

preheat the oven to 220Ā° C, cut the tofu into big cubes, marinade it with the olive oil and season it. after 20 to 30 minutes it should be done.

Take care of the tofu, because mine was cross from the outside but too dry inside, so probably next time I won’t leave it in the oven for the full 30 minutes.

Off for my run …

