Tags

, , , , ,

Isn’t this just the best breakfast ever?

My boyfriend went grocery shopping with me on saturday. I had to restock my fridge with fresh foods after the short trip to my aunt and since my organic fruit & veg box is coming on tuesdays (I am going to make an extra post about it soon), I had to get some fresh juicy deliciousness to survive those days inbetween.

So having a car for shopping, I just had to take the chance and buy an 8 kg watermelon beauty! The picture on the top shows the cap of it, which I spooned out after my 5K sunday morning run (it was raining the whole time – again) and those pictures beneath show a huge slice from the middle.

Plan was after the Bodyrock Right There Workout and 20 minutes of Tabata Intervall Rope Skiping, to finish this piece of fruit until the last bite. But I overestimated my stomach, just managed 2/3.

So whats great about watermelon and what should you consider?

Watermelon is full of antioxidants: Vitamin C, Beta-Carotene (Vitamin A) and Lycopene. This way the fruit might help you to prevent conditions like asthma, atherosclerosis, diabetes, colon cancer, and arthritis. Though you should probably consider to consume it pure and without other fruits or food. Due to a lot of raw food sources watermelon digests best when its eaten single on an empty stomach. (Or after some other fruit, if you wait 30-60 minutes until the fruit was digested) Thats pretty special, because other fruits usually can be combined considering a few rules (more on that will follow in another post). And should be eaten about 1 hour before your next meal, so that it can be digested properly.

Enough on this super-healthy-hero-fruit, I will share this mouthwatering turkish fastfood with you, which me and my flatmate enjoyed saturday on the “vegan street day” in a near by city.

Vegan Doner Kebab: Dunno how they managed it, but the faux meat somehow tasted like lamb. It was delish and completely cruelty free. Even my meatloving flatmate (who diceded to live vegetarian recently) was amazed. Sadly this was just a special offer due to the vegan street day and cannot be purchased everyday.

Probably its better this way – I usually try to avoid those faux meat products. I like to have some tofu here and there, but I don’t think its the healthiest way of eating if you subsidize all meat products you consumed before with artificially produced vegan products.

What is your opiniong about vegan fastfood and faux meat?

