Tags

, , , ,

So I decided to join the movement and take some more pictures of my food on wednesdays. Its my free day at the moment and I spend a lot of time in the kitchen preparing stuff for the week or trying new recipes. So this posts will be a little bit longer than usual.

I’ll give you a meal overview first and go into detail later.

Breakfast

Green Monster with Figs

[small apple, 1 orange, 1 scoop Sunwarrior natural, ginger, a lot of spinach, 1 fig]

Snack

watermelon & 1 piece of 72% dark chocolate

Lunch

mixed salad and potatoes with selfmade basil-pine nut-pesto

Snack

kamutbread with sunseadbutter & my aunts raspberry marmelade

Dinner

vegan mexican burger with tacos, jalapenos, salsa & guacamole + organic lemonade red berry

I had dinner with a realy nice girl I met at a vegan brunch few weeks ago. We had a great time and decided to meet more often for cooking and baking πŸ™‚ . Its great to meet new people who share my interest for healthy nutrition and are vegan as well.

And now to some stuff I prepared in my kitchen today and can enjoy over the week:

1. Watermelon Juice

Just got my new juicer today and it was perfect because the monster of watermelon I bought last week was on the edge to become overripe and I decided to juice the last 2-3kg!

3 pieces of watermelon like that in the front made 1 l of juice.


Best thing about the juicer – its easy to take apart and clean!

Who wants to have a shot πŸ™‚ ?

2. Sunseed Butter

After I had lunch today I decided to give my first selfmade nutbutter a try.

So I filled my tiny food processor/pulser with about

  • 75gr sunflower seeds
  • 1 tsp vegetable oil
  • 2 shotglasses of water
  • 2 tsp agave syrup
  • sea salt

It was more of a pulsing and adding and tasting then following an actual plan, but finally I had a pretty good texture and I really like the taste. Its still not perfectly creamy, which might change if you add a bit more water or pulse longer. But I am happy with my result and considering how much a glas of sunflower seed butter would cost me in the supermarkt, I will definitely make some again.

I thought the butter would be great to combine with the fresh kamut bread I bought today and my aunts homemade raspberry marmelade.

Man was I right! It tasted like a rich and nutty cream cheese.

So far bout my first WIAW – and I would like to know:

Whats your favorit nutbutter? And have you ever made it by yourself?

