Tags

, , , , , , ,

Instead of editing yesterdays post, I decided to babble a bit more about my running and dedicate the rest of it my current muffin madness. Thanks kabochafashionista, you made me an addict 😉 !

Soooo… running, yeah. After yesterdays fail I’ve been really upset for some time and then decided that its best to just do it again – directly – and hope there will be no upcoming thunderstorm next sunday, because I just applied for a 10K long city run. Thanks to my boyfriend, who remembered me that I am not running to compete, but to just as a proof to myself that I can. (I was getting slightly discouraged after reviewing some timetables from recent 10Ks around here and noticed, that the slowest runner finish in about 1h 12 min to 1h 18min – so I am going to be one of them, but a pround one!)

To check if I will be able to run on asphalt and late afternoon I had a 8.6K long tryout today and finished in 62 minutes – I got the best out of myself, and my right knee was hurting slightly afterwards, but I guess its ok. Just have to get used to it. Now I am going to rest and recover this week, just have a barbell class tomorrow, tennis class on thursday and one more short intervall run. That will do it.

A picture of todays post workout indulgence. Oven Roasted Eggplants, Brown Rice and Guacamole Hummus. My favorite hummus ever – its so good, it deserves an extra post sometime and maybe I’ll also share the secret recipe of this divine creation…

But now on to my  Muffin Madness!!!

And this week I decided to make muffins out of recipes for my favorite sweet breads.

Zucchini Bread Muffins

Actualy its pretty simple to explain, and because the original breadrecipe is here. I am just going to share my adjustments with you:

1. I just took 1/4 of the ingredients and made 9 muffins out of it (which were to flat for my taste – next time I will make just 5 out of the same amount of dough)

2. I used oat flour instead of all purpose flour. (just grinded 1/2 cup of oats)

3. I used far more cinnamon, because I also have a crazy cinnamon addiction.

4. I topped them with vegan white chocolate spread to hide those healthy little greenies under a sinful cover.

Thats it!

I finished the last one today, so I just had to make new ones. Muffins are so great to wrap in some foil and put in your bag and have a perfect little snack to go. So I thought about jazzing a great vegan cornbread recipe up with a bit of zucchini, apple and ginger… tadaaa:

Cornbread Zuccapple Muffins

were created!

  • 2 Tbsp. ground flax seed       
  • 6 Tbsp. water
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal               
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar        
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. table salt
  • 1 cup soy/rice milk          
  • 1/4 cup peanut oil           
  • 1/2 cup grated apple and zucchini   
  • a pinch grated ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 180°C (convection oven) or 200°C regular. Heat the water and let the ground flax seed simmer until they get slimy. Prepare the grated apple, ginger and zucchini, add with the nondairy milk and oil to the flax seed mixture. In another bowl prepare all of the dry ingridients. Combine both and mix well.

Prepare 9 muffin forms with about 2 Tbsp dough each. Place on the middle rack and leave them in the oven for ~20 minutes. Oh and let them cool before indulging 😀 – it hurts when your tongue get burnt. Believe me, mine gets every time.

So I bet that there will be another recipe to follow this week, because my parents already took 3 of those 9 beauties with them and I had one to check the taste for you guys *chm*.

Hope you all had such a good start of the week!

