Tags

, , , , ,

perfect vegan cookie

So I am finally back in the blogging world – after taking a long break due to work, study and travel stress – now I decided to use some of my new free time to upgrade the whole design, content and work on future plans for this blog.

The about section had a make over and I am planning on keeping some things I have done so far, e.g.I would like to still take part in the WIAWs regularly, and bring in new ideas – why to by organic and my own little experiment, different ways to veganize popular dishes and how to make your own seitan or vegan cheese, more on my workouts and my way back into martial arts and also some articles on healthy eating in general, motivations and extremes. There are enough topics going through my mind which I would love to present and discuss with you.

sleepy lou

Lou is quite supportive … luckily she did not fall asleep on my notebook this time… so as long as I keep it quiet and do not move her too much, I might be able to finish this post without her playing cat and mouse with my tipping fingers.

Starting out easy, I just happened to recently develop the recipe for the perfect cookie. I mean – I am baking chocolate chip cookies for a while now and have experimented with various vegan and non-vegan (which I altered) recipes. In need for a personal accompanying touch to a money present, I finally thought, why not give it a try and make your own recipe from scratch by just throwing some ingredients together, choosing those which I would love to have in my healthy but still indulgent version of this American classic?

The Perfect Cookie

the perfect cookie

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat rye flour
  • 1/4 cup of each: almond flour*, oat flour*, all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening (or even better – coconut butter), peanut butter and peanut oil
  • 1/2 cup sweeteners of choice (in my case a mix of brown sugar and agave)
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax meal, 2 tbsp water)
  • dash of vanilla, cinnamon and sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp soda
  • fold ins: chocolate chips and dried cranberries

*just grind the necessary amount of oats and almonds in your food processor

ingredients

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. First prepare the flax egg and set it aside. Then combine the dry ingredients in one bowl, and the fats and sweeteners in another. Beat up the butters, oils and sugars until you achieve a creamy texture, than add it with the flax egg to the dry ingredients. Mix everything nicely and add the fold ins.

dry ingredients wet ingredients

creamy texture fold ins

Place heaped teaspoons on a baking sheet and press them slightly flat. Move them into the preheated oven and let them bake for round about 10 to 15 minutes (check in between until you achieve the desired grade of goldyness 😉 ).

place on sheet

Thanks to my boyfriend the kitty was not all over the place – jumping on the table, begging for a taste of what ever I might be preparing there (and since it was no watermelon, she would have been quite disappointed anyway) and playing with the baking paper.

care

So I had all the ease I needed to place the cookies in the oven and knee in front of it for 15 minutes, waiting for them to golden up. And what can I say? They turned out to be heavenly when they come out of the oven, still warm and soft inside – giving the flat this beautiful smell just a good cookie can. And then the next day, after cooling out completely, they are crisp and crunchy and a little bit chewy …

cookies done

just the way I like my cookie. So how do you like yours?

