Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been a long, long day today! After getting up and to work pretty early in the morning, I was hoping to enjoy coming home early, having some chill out time and going to my first lesson of the new kickboxing workout class I signed up for… like I said, I hoped so… On my drive home I noticed that my whole neighborhood was surrounded by police cars and enlistees. I parked my car at a nearby public park and went there by foot, just to be informed that there was a second world war bomb found somewhere and nobody knew how long it would take to deactivate it.

Thus I ended up spending the evening buying an awesome book (more about it soon), enjoying a coffee and great dinner with my best friend – completely cheating on my challenge, sorry about that, but I hope the circumstances are excuse enough – and finally getting back into my flat like 4 hours later. Good thing about it: Kitty finally accepted to finish a whole bowl of kibble instead her totally prefered wet cat food.

So without further ado, here it is:Carrot Pumpkin Pizza Dough

  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 1 cube fresh yeast (you can also use equivalent amount of dry)
  • 2 tsps honey
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin-carrot puree (1 medium sized carrot and a quarter of a medium sized hokkaido)
  • 1,5 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 cups whole wheat + all purpose flour mix
  • 0,5 cup whole wheat flour

Cut carrot and pumpkin into chunks and place in a pot with approximately 1 cup of boiling water. Let cook for 10 to 15 minutes (check if they are soft enough to be parted with a spoon), then place in your food processor. Mix until you get a smooth puree.

Hint: You may wanna add 1/2 cup of the water to make mixing easier.

Place the yeast (crumbeled if fresh) with 2 teaspoons honey in 1/2 cup warm water and let sit while you prepare the puree. Add puree and 1 tbsp olive oil to the yeast, stir and set aside.

Take a big bowl and fill it with 3 cups of half whole wheat half all purpose flour ( I just used wheat flour 1050 which is already a mix), add 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (I used rye) and 1 tsp of salt (better more than less). Mix everything, make a mold and add the wet ingredients.

Pull everything together with a spatula as far as it goes, then start using your hands kneading until you get an elastic doughball.

Coat it with ~ 1 tsp of olive oil and let it grow under a slightly wet towel for at least 2 hours.
Hint: I always place yeasted dough in my oven, after preheating to 120 degrees and then turning off.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Roll out half, third, forth (depends how big you want your pizza to be) of the risen dough and place in the oven for 5 minutes, take it out, flip over and place desired toppings on the baked side. Transfer to oven again and bake for another 10-15 minutes.
Hint: The remaining dough can be kept in the fridge if you want to use it up the next day, or freezed for about one month.

What I do especially like is the crunchiness on the outside and how soft it is on the insight. Plus the whole wheat fills you up pretty fast – after inhaling this pizza it took me more then 6 hours to get hungry again.

My first version was topped with zucchini, olives, seitan and No Muh Melty. This was my first time to eat pizza with olives and that is definitely going to be a keeper!

The second version, which you can see at the top of this post, was as already mentioned in my WIAW a Pizza my boyfriend and I shared. We topped it with red onions, zucchini, seitan and easy homemade cheese sauce. If anyone is interested in the recipe for the sauce – just make a comment and I will incorporate it in one of my next posts.

Hint: In my opinion, the dough tastes best when baked into pizza buns and smeared with homemade herb butter.

What is your favorite pizza topping and do you like pizza buns?

