Tags

, , , ,

Good morning fellow foodies! Being an early riser has quite some benefits. Though I have an appointment with my optician at 9am, I still can make the time to blog, have a nice little breakfast – yesterday’s wine and slightly salted popcorn did not leave me too hungry – and take a little ride on my bicycle ergometer while enjoying an episode of Gilmore Girls.

So before I’ll come to the latter, here is a recipe for you guys that I mentioned before as my recent breakfast discovery – oven baked oats. Not so new to a few of you, I bet, so I hope my little autumny twist on it does not bore you.

Baked Pumpkin Pie Oats

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup almond/soy milk
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 tbsp apple sauce
  • 1/4 apple (cut into chunks)
  • 1 tbsp raisins
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • 1 tsp flaxseeds
  • 1 tsp pumpkin spice
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • coconut oil for coating

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a cereal bowl mix the old fashioned oats with the flax seeds, pumpkin spice and baking powder. Add the wet ingredients (milk, pumpkin, apple sauce, molasses) and incorporate everything well. Fold in the apple chunks and raisins, then coat an oven-safe dish with coconut oil and fill it with the mixture. Place in the oven for 20 minutes, or until the surface is goldened to your liking, and enjoy best with a dollop of nut butter! Who does not like pie for breakfast?

Hope you guy’s enjoy the autumn just as much as I do! Especially with Lou being extra-cudly accompanying me while I am enjoying my reading mojo (Catching Fire, is the current book of choice).

What did you like about it so far? And any exciting recipe that you discovered recently and I just have to try?

