Tags

, , , , ,

Recipe time! Remember how I was complaining about bad lightning in yesterday’s What I Ate Wednesday post? Today I read about how great snow is in reflecting the light and that it helps to make beautiful pictures during those ugly winter days.

Luckily, snow is something we have hell of a lot at the moment. So I took my chances and thought I’ll share with you my first try on oven roasted veggies.

coated vegNot too bad, right?

Roasted Teriyaki Vegetables

  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 small carrot
  • 1/2 cup kale
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms
  • 1 cup cauliflower
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp teriyaki spice (you can use any other spice if you like)
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast *optional
  • dash of sea salt

cut onions

Slice the onion.

fried onionsHeat a pan, coat it with the olive oil and let the onion sizzle.

cut vegWhile waiting for the onion getting tanned, prepare the other vegetables.

teriyaki vegLet them join the fried onion, add spice, salt and nutritional yeast and mix it through, until everything is evenly coated.

At this point I set the vegetables aside for my dinner. That is why the following pictures are so dark.Β 

place on trayAfter preheating my oven to 180Β°C (350Β°F) I placed the prepared vegetables next to my herb coated fish fillet on the baking tray and let them roast in the oven for about 8-10 minutes.

teriyaki veg

You can see how crunchy the kale is – and, funny fact, it turned out to be my first try on kale chips, too! I loved it. Have to make some again tomorrow.

Plus, roasted vegetables will be a staple from now on. I cannot believe that it took me so long to finally make them – but now I am hooked.

What is your favorite vegetable recipe or vegetarian side dish?

