Tags

, , , , , , ,

You know what is a disadvantage living in Germany? Having to stay awake until 1:30 am to watch the Oscar Academy Awards live. I am a lucky girl and can choose which time I work off my 6 office hours tomorrow – so I decided to give it a go and try to make it till the end (5 to 6 am). My methods to stay awake:

1. Cycling – You see, I learned my lesson watching “Elementary” …

What’s good for medical school, cannot be wrong for Oscar Night, right?

2. Coffee and sugar – and I have to say: I hate sugar in my coffee, the only way I can  enjoy sweetened coffee is to have it cold and with milk. I searched and experimented on methods to make a great, quick iced coffee at home for years now. And then, just recently, I stumbled over a fantastic method, which is so life-changing to me that I would like to save it for it’s own post.

3. Yoga – not only to stay awake, but also because of the terrible whole-body muscle ache I have thanks to yesterdays barbell routine (the second one posted on my Lifting Iron page). I found that Yoga helps a lot in relaxing and easing sore muscles.

4. All right, this one is a little embarrassing to admit: I am a secret fan of Nora Robert’s  sweet-like-fresh-baked-pastry romantic novels. Though I usually prefer a more demanding read they are just the perfect soul food and in those late hours, when Tolstoi would lull you to sleep, Nora Robert’s novels capture me just enough to keep me awake for one or two more hours.

5. Last but not least: I’ll take the chance and share a mouth-watering recipe with you that I came up with this week and which I award with my Breakfast-Oscar:

Cinnamon Roll French Toast

cinnamon roll french toast

makes 1 portion

  • leftover, slightly dry, cinnamon roll (you can use any other leftover, sweet pastry)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup milk of choice
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • optional: nut butter and agave or maple syrup

I came up with this recipe when my homemade Cinnamon Rolls got a little stale and too dry for my taste. But I bet it would work with any other leftover pastry, as long as it has a slightly sweet taste.

Preheat your pan to medium-low heat, then whisk the egg into your milk. Make sure to use a bowl which is flat and wide. Cut your pastry into thumb-thick slices. Coat the pan with the coconut oil. Let each slice soak from both sides in the egg-milk mixture, before transferring into the pan. Fry for 2 minutes from each side, or until golden brown. Arrange on a plate and sprinkle with toppings of choice. I choose almond butter and agave – it felt like a fancy Sunday morning breakfast, though this one just took me about 5 minutes to make.

Cinnamon Roll French Toast

Finally I want to give a quick shout out to Jennifer Lawrence:

She’s an amazing actress and I enjoyed every minute of Silver Linings Playbook. Fingers crossed for her to get the Oscar!

Btw – love that quote of one interview she gave: I’m never going to starve myself for a part. I don’t want little girls to be like, ‘Oh, I want to look like Katniss, so I’m going to skip dinner.

Are you watching the Academy Awards and from which part of the world? Who do you want to get an Oscar? What food would you choose for your personal Breakfast Oscar?

P.S.: 50 Followers! I just wanted to give a big ninja-hug and kisses to all of you!

