Tags

, , , , ,

Have I told you that I was a strange 17 year old? Just lost the remaining baby fat by the age of 16 and was quite conscious not to gain everything back by being a typical teenager girl: partying, drinking, having late night fast food feasts in the local fast food chain. I still had fun, loved to go out and dance and enjoy myself – just without the unnecessary weight gain and without the forbidden booze (not that I’ve been afraid to drink alcohol before the in Germany legal age of 18 – I did like most of the other teens at some point). So one night out with some girls in a cocktail bar I decided that I just had to have a virgin cocktail instead of the typical coke light, since the name was so intriguing – the “Pussy Foot” made me fall in love with virgin cocktails, though I really was avoiding to consume “liquid calories” otherwise.

Oh boy, those times have passed. I do enjoy a White Russian, Gin Tonic or glass of wine when I am out with friends and I am also no longer afraid to consume my nutrients in liquid form. Actually when I came up with the pink smoothie you saw in this weeks WIAW post, I instantly knew how I needed to name it.

first spoon

I promised and will deliver: that is why today you will get the amazing recipe of the

Pussy Foot Smoothie

pink smoothieingredients:

  • 1/4 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1/3 cup fresh strawberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/3 cup Greek yogurt (where to get in Germany) *soy yogurt for vegan version
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder *optional (could also use oats or just omit)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • & the key ingredient: 1/3 cup frozen watermelon
  • some water to get your blender going

watermelonFor my frozen watermelon I just scooped watermelon with a teaspoon (like making scoops of ice cream) in bite sized pieces and placed in a freezer bag. You might need to beat them up a little when frozen, since they tend to stick together.

Place all of the ingredients except for protein powder and cinnamon in your blender. Add spoonful’s of water until it gets going nicely. When everything is blended add the protein and cinnamon. Quick blend until evenly incorporated.

Fill in a fancy glass. And I tell you: this recipe will make a huge smoothie. You might want to take a red wine glass as I did and (most importantly!) a spoon! This smoothie is for spooning only – it will have such a thick and creamy consistency that you can dig into it like soft ice. It is just way better for you: no bellyache afterwards.

pussy foot It will be love on the first spoon – I promise!

