Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Big announcement on HN today: I decided to get a Gym Membership after over a year without one. How come? It’s not the fact that I have a lack of opportunities to workout without a Gym. I love running, kickboxing classes at my university and I do have a lot of equipment at home: stationary bike, skipping rope, dumbbells, barbell, kettle bell, pull up bar, yoga mat and so on. The only thing I’ve been recently missing is the fun to do sports with someone you know. The last gym membership I had was at a gym Sina, my best friend, and I went to together. After the gym went bankrupt she got a new one and I decided to just do with what I had at home. Now I noticed that the gym next to my boyfriends home is the same chain Sina goes to and there is even a branch not far from where I live and another one next to the office I write my Master thesis in – good job with your branching out, MC Fit, you got me bottled up – thank you very much.
dipsleg press

So instead of spending our morning in bed watching series on TV, Jay and I were a bit more active today and I have to say as much as I love our chill out days (we just see each other once/twice a week anyways) this was a nice change of pace. Jay developed a workout plan for the next weeks, focusing on explosive movement – I will share the detailed plan later this week – and today we adjusted the weights, he showed me some of the guy-machines I never worked out with and with our warm up – weights – cool down – stretching we managed to spend 2.5 hours in the gym. Best thing: I enjoyed every minute of it and cannot wait to go again on Thursday or Friday. But let’s see how I look at it tomorrow when the muscle ache hits in. demolished

Me after the first gym session in over a year – I also quite enjoyed the treadmill intervals at the end (which were my addition to Jays workout, as well as the yoga moves for stretching and an ab exercise that made him swear 🙂 ) and if the weather get’s better we will use the sports field, which lies on the way back home, for our post lifting cardio.
scrambled eggs

Can you believe that I was starving when we arrived home? I had a milk bun before the workout, which was at about 7:30 am and after we both took a shower it was after 11 am already. Luckily, Jays mom had made us some scrambled eggs (hers are the best), I added some cherry tomatoes and turkey breast and the meal I prepared before:

Yogurt Protein Mess

protein yogurt mess

  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein (I used Jays whey protein)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mix the ingredients above in a bowl and let them sit in the fridge while you workout. Back home you add:

  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1 generous tsp peanut butter

And there you have an amazingly delicious protein yogurt mess!

Do you have a gym membership? Do you workout with your boy/girlfriend? What is your favorite post workout meal?

