Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It is Friday already! Can you believe it? Having Tuesday off this week somehow made the week just fly by. And I am quite happy that it is the weekend already, since I have great plans: this evening we are having BBQ at a friends house, who’s going to Bali for a semester in the next days, Saturday I am meeting another friend whom I haven’t seen in quite a while and I spend the day in Cologne with her and Sunday will be most likely spend with Sina and our exciting blog plans, though she doesn’t know yet.

fall skirt

And excuse me for not sharing the following recipe with you yesterday. I wasn’t feeling the weather… or no, that’s actually not exactly right, I was quite enjoying the few days of fall we already had by cuddling into a blanket, drinking some tea, reading a book, playing candy crush (this game is the devil – way to addictive) and rocking my fall skirt in the mid of August!

But before we come to the delicious part of today’s post I’d like to give a quick shout out to FABIANA SIMÕES. Thanks to amazing her I’ve been able to implement a second sidebar to my theme (it needed some CSS to do so, and I am merely a beginner when it comes to that). I will also need to find a new Host for the blog, since spending so much time on it, I’d like to generate a bit of revenue by adding some adds and WordPress doesn’t support that on blogs they host for free.

Tempeh Bacon Burger

the other BLT

blt

I’ve made this burger quite often know and never thought about sharing, since assembling a sandwich doesn’t seem like a real recipe to me. But since it got quite some positive response on social media it needed to be published on HN too.

ingredients for one

  • rye burger bun (or other whole wheat bun of choice)
  • 1-2 stripes bacon
  • 3 stripes tempeh (about 1/2 inch thick)
  • 1 tsp basil pesto
  • 1 tsp cream cheese (I used goats cheese here)
  • lettuce

blt

Fry the bacon in a non-stick pan and add the tempeh as soon as the bacon starts sizzling. Stir thoroughly since the tempeh should fry in the bacon fat for the special taste we go for. Toast the bun and coat one side with pesto and the other with cream cheese. Place the fried tempeh on the pesto side, top with bacon and the lettuce on the cream cheese side.

bltFlip one on the other and put it in a zip lock bag or lunch box to bring to the office, university or school. You can also reheat it by separating the two halves and placing the one with tempeh and bacon in the microwave for 30 seconds. No longer, or your bun will taste like gummy.

bltNice thing about this lunch is that it fills you up, is satisfying, but doesn’t sit heavily on the stomach.

What is your favorite lunch to bring to office or class? 

