Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy first day of the weekend! After my decision to go on a spontaneous short trip, I packed my bags in half an hour and hit the road yesterday afternoon. Luckily it’s just a 3 hour drive, thus I arrived at my aunt’s by dinner time and had a good night of sleep. It is unbelievable how much better I sleep in total silence. My own bedroom window is opening towards a highly frequented road and even at 3 am at night I still hear some cars passing by. Rested and relaxed I am ready to share the promised recipe with you and afterwards hit the books for a few hours before spending the afternoon shopping with my aunt. Sweet life.

Remember how I dedicated a love-post (oh, right, I think we should make this a term since love letters are a seldom thing nowadays) to Banookies last November? These little nutrient-powerhouses are my go to, when it comes to healthy snacking. Especially in times of exam preparation or thesis writing they can be real life savers. And the best about them? They are extremely versatile and never failed me. Here comes the recipe for the batch I showed you in this weeks WIAW:

Banookiesbanookies

yields 10 cookies

dry ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats (place in your mixer to make flour)
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

wet ingredients:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 T avocado *opt or use 1 additional T oil/butter
  • 1 T coconut oil (or butter)
  • 1 T agave syrup (or honey)
  • 1 egg (or flax egg for vegan version)

fold in:

  • generous handful dark chocolate chips

I will soon try to make a paleo version of this recipe by using 1/4 cup coconut flour instead of the oats. But you could also try my crispy & chewy paleo chocolate chip cookies.

IMG_0858cPreheat the oven to 350 F (180° C).

Mix all of your dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside. Take a second bowl and mash your banana and avocado. Melt the coconut oil (butter) in your microwave and stir into the mash. Add agave and (flax) egg, whisk until evenly incorporated. Add wet ingredients to dry and fold in the chocolate chips.

Line a baking tray with baking paper. Place one heaped teaspoon of dough on the paper and press slightly down. Proceed with the remaining dough and place in the oven. Bake for about 10 minutes.IMG_0888cThese cookies will be chewy and just slightly sweet. If you have more of a sweet tooth you can add an extra tablespoon agave. But I prefer them as they are, with a cup of hot steaming tea and sometimes, if I am especially fancy, I spread some of my favorite nut butter on top.

IMG_0831c

If you are not much of a morning person, these work also as a healthy but sweet breakfast alternative to be enjoyed next to your coffee. The Italians traditionally have just a few cookies or other small pastries with coffee for breakfast. While I wouldn’t recommend spiking your blood sugar early morning by indulging in sweets (I usually save my cappuccino and croissant breakfast for Sunday mornings), you can guilt free enjoy a banookie, or two, or three…

