Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been doing quite some yoga recently. Especially with the hot weather running or spinning was not exactly what I longed for and a long stretching session in the morning felt like exactly the right thing to do. Here are some great free online yoga sources: my old addiction Tara Stiles is always a good choice, for a bit more sensual action I again recommend trying the free BUTI sample classes (and more free BUTI sessions on youtube) and another wonderful yoga channel I recently found: Ali Kamenova’s Interval Yoga, which offers challenging yoga routines for beginner and advanced yogis.

What is great about starting my day with yoga, but the obvious energized and stretched body sensation: my body craves healthy food and I am also more aware of my hunger and satiety signals throughout the day – guess that has something to do with the mindfulness and meditative aspects of yoga. Or probably it’s just the placebo effect, who knows. I’ll take it anyway.

So I came up with the name of this wholesome breakfast due to all the yoga vibes and I think it is a nice fit:

Karma Bowl

karma bowl

yields 1 portion, should be prepared 2 hours or a night ahead

  • 1/2 cup leftover grains (brown rice, quinoa, buckwheat)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (homemade tastes best; or substitute with milk of choice )
  • 1 medium carrot, grated
  • 1/2 apple, grated
  • 1/2 tsp ginger, grated
  • 1 tsp cranberries
  • 1 tsp ground flaxseeds
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp maca powder *opt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

toppings:

  • 1 tbsp almond milk *opt
  • 1 tsp almond butter
  • 1 tsp maple syrup

karma bowl

This dish is perfect to make if you have leftover grains from lunch or dinner. Just take half a cup of the grains (I used brown rice with this one), grate away your carrot, apple and ginger, place all the ingredients in a bowl and pour with almond milk. Mix thoroughly and place in the fridge overnight (or at least for 2 hours). Due to the soaking time the already cooked grains will get even softer and more mushy, what I do love for breakfast.

karma bowlIn the morning you just add your toppings. I used a splash of my homemade almond milk, since all of the liquid was already soaked up, one generous teaspoon of almond butter and a drizzle of maple syrup. It was the perfect mix of earthy (brown rice, maca and almond butter), tangy (ginger) and sweet (cranberries and maple syrup). I was full for 3-4 hours without feeling stuffed and made it again the next day with quinoa.

Do you practice yoga? What is your favorite summer workout? How do you use leftover grains?