Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Anyone else of you bloggers out there notices with days full of fun and laughter your post-schedule gets kind of … non existent? I give you a short summary what happened since last Wednesday:

I spent a lot of time with friends, since it is my last week of semester break. Shopping, having coffee, dining out, doing sports and inviting them over to chit chat even more. Which leads me to dinner planing:

dinner planing

This bad-quality photography is me trying to take pictures out of a Jamie Oliver cookbook my mum borrowed to my boyfriend, who wants to get into cooking. (And who would I be to discourage him by taking it to cook a dinner for friends?… a girlfriend who can cook all meals herself in the future. Naaah…)

Talking about books, I have been reading quite a lot in the course of last week. Guess its the fear that semester is starting with a colossal 45 hour seminar week (not counting the half day of work I need to fit in somewhere and the presentation preparation). So, all what’s fun needs to happen now.

brother dinner brother dinner

Sleep over including video games, long talks, vino and a little tipsy Asian cooking with my younger brother. He is so adorable, I gave him advice what to cook when he invites a girl over – he hates veg, but was so amazed by my version of Hoi Sin mushrooms and beans, that I had to write down the recipe for him and give away my newly purchased glass of Hoi Sin sauce. That is how you do it, mom 😉 !

recipe trialsWorking on new recipes, inspired by all the reading.

readingReading even more – if you are a foodie, health food blogger, casual baker or cook I recommend reading Jenna’s autobiographic book “White Jacket Required” – and consequently more baking…

biscotti

(Jenna’s Dark Chocolate Pistachio Biscotti, with additional cranberries)

… and recipe creating.

Chocolate ButtonsSo that is the point where we finally come to today’s topic and why I really wanted to write this post, though I will be uploading my What I Ate Wednesday post in no time.

Dark Chocolate Buttons

paleo, vegan, can be raw

Ever fancied to make your own chocolate? Shied back because you had no cacao butter at hand and the recipes sounded kind of complicated? That is exactly how I came up with my dark chocolate buttons.

  • 1 heaped tsp coconut oil
  • 1 heaped tsp peanut butter (*almond butter for paleo version)
  • 3 tbsp cacao powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 tsp honey

Melt the coconut oil and peanut butter in your microwave or on the stove.
After melted, stir in just enough cacao powder that it thickens a bit, but still remains as liquid as melted chocolate. Fill 10 holes of your praline form (I used a silicon one) with half a teaspoon of the mixture and let it harden in the freezer for 15 minutes.

dark chocolate buttonsThe result will be intense, rich, a little salty and melt on your tongue. Store them in an air-tight container in your fridge and enjoy as a treat or decadent round up for a home-cooked meal.