Tags

, , , ,

I wrote my last exam at a German university this morning. Now I am done with the second semester of my MA and do only have 5 month of master thesis and one semester abroad left. After handing in my exam papers today, with a huge smile on my face, I felt unbelievably lightened and tired. I actually needed to sleep for two hours in the afternoon and do still feel a bit drained – no wonder after three weeks of straight studying and a semester filled with papers and presentations. Starting to write my master thesis on Monday somehow feels like vacation now.

But the main reason why I am popping in today (instead of only relaxing and reading a book) is the recipe I promised you in this weeks What I Ate Wednesday. It’s done in under 15 minutes and looks quite fancy. Fancy lunch for one, anybody? By the way: don’t get mislead by the Chili Almond Sauce, I thought of making an extra sauce, but in the end decided that dipping is too much stress and I would prefer the flavors to be worked into the spring roll. That is why I decided to just fold the sauce ingredients into the minced meat.

Thai Spring Rolls

with Chili Almond Sauce

thai spring rolls

  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 100 g lean minced beef *could be substituted with minced chicken
  • 3 button mushrooms
  • 1 Tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • Sriracha
  • lemon juice
  • garlic powder
  • 1/4 cucumber, cut in long strips
  • 1 cup salad leafs *you can use arugula, baby spinach and mixed leafs
  • 3 rice paper wrappers

minced meat

Preheat the pan and let the coconut oil melt. Cut the mushrooms in cubes and place them in the pan, add the minced beef and sprinkle with garlic powder. When browned from all sites fold in the almond butter, Sriracha, soy sauce and some lemon juice. Set aside.fill the wrap

Let the rice wrappers soak in water for 30-60 seconds. I do use a big round plate, place one rice wrapper on top and dash it with water. After draining, place some lettuce leafs in the middle, top with sliced cucumber and the prepared beef. Spring onions or coriander would also be great additions, which I sadly did not have at hand.fold a rice wrap

Take the upper and bottom side of the rice paper and fold half an inch (~1 cm) over the filling. Than fold the right side fully over the filling and the already folded sides, start rolling …fold a rice wrapuntil the rice paper is completely closed. The easy thing with rice paper is that it becomes sticky when wet. Continue the same way with the remaining two rice wrappers.

thai rolls done

Bon appétit!

And I will be back Sunday with a recipe for amazing gluten-free and Paleo chocolate chip cookies. I do enjoy one (or two, or three…) of those healthy cookies every day currently.