Tags

, , , , , ,

With the beginning of fall – and I know that it isn’t fall officially, but in my books September is the first month of fall and this month started 5 days ago – my soup-craving goes through the roof. As I’ve said before, eating soups all the time is part of my Russian heritage. And yesterday after reading through so many WIAWs I decided that it was time to do some cooking. Pizzas, sandwiches, cereal bowls and granola bars are great, but I have to admit that after a few days of cooking-laziness I’m actually a bit sick of them. Thinking of the ingredients I had at hand I decided to make me a nice bowl of soup. What else? And for those of you who made their way through various afternoon snacks (I remember nibbling on some cereal, a rice wafer with almond butter, frozen grapes and a handful of salty corn kernels) this soup will make a light yet satisfying dinner.

Turkey Meatball Soup

light meatball soup

yields 2 small portions *add 1/2 cup of pasta or double the butternut squash, if you need something more substential

  • 1/2 cup butternut squash
  • 1/3 cup edamame (soy beans)
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 1/4 pound minced turkey
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tsp flax seed
  • 1/2 tsp dried herbs (I used an Italian herb mix)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 tsp sriracha *optional
  • 3 cups vegetable broth

ingredients

Clean the butternut squash and cut it in cubes, slice the mushrooms. Place your edamame in a bowl with water and microwave for half a minute (or cook them on the stove for 1 minute). Drain and rinse with cold water, squeeze the soy beans out of their pods.

turkey meatballs

Place the minced turkey in a bowl, add flax seed, the pressed garlic clove, dry herbs and some salt and pepper plus the sriracha, if you like it hot like me. Mix well and form 10 ping pong sized balls out of it.
meatball mushroom soup

Place a pot with the 3 cups of broth on the stove. Bring it to a boil, add the squash and the meatballs (and also the pasta if you are going to use some). To avoid breaking the meatballs use a tablespoon and let each one slide gently into the water. Close the lid and let them simmer on medium heat for 10 minutes. Add the sliced mushrooms and the soy beans, close the lid again and let the soup cook for additional 3-5 minutes, depending on how soft you want your mushrooms to be.butternut squash meatball soup

Serve immediately. Also place some sriracha on the table. I recommend using it with every soup. (Whom am I kidding? Every dish!) Good news for the hunter-and-gatherers among us, this dish is paleo without the addition of pasta and sadly also the sriracha.

Tell me: what is your favorite soup dish?