Tags

, , , , ,

Do you know those days when you wake up and are very hot? And I don’t mean to be saucy here, I am referring to this unpleasant sensation that you are burning, have a red head and could storm outside right after bed to cool down (if it weren’t for the 4 floors = 8 flights of stairs). I am 24 years old, seriously, my climacteric period is far, far ahead. So whatever it is and whether some of you have this strange hot morning flashes as well or not: I found a pretty great breakfast option for that. Because, what cannot be cured with a delicious breakfast? This is what I recently go for if I cannot stand the thought of hot oatmeal, an omelet or even coffee… oh wait, I do not care how hot I am, I will still have my coffee and eat this breakfast afterwards to cool me down:

Smoothie Bowl

smoothie in a bowl

Smoothie ingredients:

  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder *you could replace with 2 tbsp oats and vanilla extract
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup frozen watermelon *optional, but highly recommended
  • 1/3 cup mixed berries *I used frozen blueberries and fredh strawberries
  • 1 tbsp Greek yogurt *for vegan option use soy yogurt
  • 1/4 cucumber
  • 1/4 avocado
  • a bit water to get the blender going

Place all of the ingredients but the protein powder/oats in your blender and blend up for a minute. Add the protein powder and blend until you get a smooth, creamy consistency (will be better the more frozen ingredients you use). Pour in your favorite breakfast bowl.

Quick Maple Granola

violet smoothie

Granola ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp rolled oats (1 cup)
  • 1 tsp ground flax seeds (2 tbsp)
  • dash of cinnamon (1.5 tsp)
  • 1 tsp maple syrup (2 tbsp)

You could either make a quick portion of this recipe, just as a topping for your smoothie, or you could go all out and make a whole batch. Of course you can double or triple the quantities if you like.

Mix oats, flax seeds and cinnamon in a bowl. Add the maple syrup and incorporate everything. Let sit while preheating oven to 350 F (180 °C). Spread out evenly on a baking sheet and place in the oven. Let bake for just about 5 minutes. Watch closely to not let them burn – they will be done quickly, I assure you.

Place on your smoothie (some yogurt, or eat with milk). Enjoy!

smoothie topped with granolaDo you feel especially hot some mornings? How do you think about smoothies for breakfast? What is your favorite smoothie topping?