Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hope you are all having a wonderful weekend. Mine just started with a disturbingly early alarm. I spend my Friday sleeping in, working out, playing with my cam and getting my roots highlighted – oh, and some shopping was also happening. You can imagine how much of my to-do-list I got done. Niente, right.IMG_0216

So I justified a lazy evening watching TV, picking out pictures for today’s post and reading, by setting my alarm super early. On my list for the next two hours: writing this post, cleaning the flat, getting ready for Marketing Camp, where I will spend most of the day (and need to present a workshop regarding our social work) and probably also deciding what I wear for a huge birthday party this evening. Luckily Sina is a darling. She promised to look through her own clothes if she could borrow me something nice. Isn’t it great to have a best friend with a similar dress size? 

Here you have a quick glance into my weekend, but let’s talk about a new thing I’d like to establish here on Health Ninja. Actually my brother is the one who gave me the idea for it: Recipes for cooking beginners! When I moved out of my parents house five years ago I wasn’t even able to make a frozen pizza in the oven, without asking somebody for the temperature and time it needed. I teached myself cooking the trial-and-error way and also by searching online. Nowadays my brother tries to get a bit into cooking to impress his girlfriend – such a charmer, isn’t he? So here comes an easy, healthy and budget-friendly recipe which my boyfriend and I enjoy on a regular base.

Tuna Cherry Tomato Scramble

scramble

yields 2-3 portions

*paleo without the addition of rice

  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 T olive oil *I used chili oil only because I had no olive oil at hand
  • 1 can of tuna, in water
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pepper
  • rice to serve (it would also taste great with a few slices of baguette, on top of quinoa or buckwheat) – and if you don’t own a rice steamer, here is a how to cook it on the stovetop.

onion chili oil

1. Chop the onion like Jamie Oliver does it. Seriously, if you never chopped an onion, check out the video. You’ll have even pieces and your fingers will still be attached. 

2. Place a big coated pan or wok on the stove top. Turn the heat on high, pour in the oil – as I mentioned, no olive oil at my boyfriends house but I found this bottle of chili flavored canola oil and it did the trick – and wait until it gets hot. You can make the test by throwing in one piece of the onion, if it starts to sizzle you are good to go.

fry onionadd tuna and tomatoes

3. Add the chopped onion into the pan. Press the garlic on top and start mixing. Don’t worry, if you don’t have a garlic crusher you can use this method. Turn the heat down to medium and let the onion and garlic turn brown.

4. Quarter the cherry tomatoes and drain the tuna. Add them to the pan. Give everything a good stir, let it sizzle on.

beating eggsadd eggs

5. Crack your eggs, as described in this video, into a small bowl. Take a fork and beat them until yolk and white are nicely incorporated.

6. Pour the eggs into the pan, add the salt and some pepper, give the mixture a quick stir and let sit for about two minutes.

stir

steamed rice

8. Start folding the scramble. You will notice that the bottom is already firm and it’s color turned golden. Now you want to mix it up, so that the remaining eggy liquid on top also get’s fried.

9. Place your rice on a plate and reheat in the microwave if necessary (we always make a huge batch of steamed rice for Jay’s mom, Jay and me and eat it in the course of 2-3 days).

done

10. When your scramble has turned to a nice golden color and there is no liquid left you are ready to serve. Place some rice in a bowl top with your scramble and if you’d like to make it look at least a bit better (this scramble won’t win a beauty contest) add some cherry tomatoes as decoration.tuna tomato scrambleTo really impress a girl you might want to use chop sticks for this meal. You can buy them cheaply at any Asian store in your area and you really should train using them before you show off your skills. If you wonder how to – search online, I did so too. If I could show you anything today I hope it’s how easy you can get some cooking skills only by searching online. There is quite some useful material out there.tuna scrambleThis dish is also a great way to get your children to eat fish or vegetables. It really doesn’t taste fishy at all and they won’t even notice the tomatoes. You could even add some shredded zucchini or tiny slices mushrooms to the mix. I bet some herbs like parsley or cilantro would also be a nice addition, but I had to do with what was at hand at Jay’s home and fresh herbs weren’t. On the other hand who has fresh herbs when just moved out of home and starts to learn cooking in his/her shared apartment kitchen?

Guess, I earned a big bowl of eggy oats now. My tummy starts complaining. Hope you enjoyed this step by step recipe. Tell me what you think! And I also love to hear about your first kitchen experiences and how you learned to cook.