Tags

, , , , , , , ,

For this weeks Meatless Monday I have a bunch of gingery recipes for you. It started with a lot of questions last week how I do prepare my carrot cake oats. Since I came up with a raw version for my detox which starts today and also wanted to share a raw buckwheat porridge recipe with you, which also has a gingery twist, I decided to throw them all together and give you a threesome of breakfast recipes using ginger, which will kickstart your metabolism.

[For more information on my Detox scroll down]

Carrot Cake Oats {cooked & vegan}

  • 1/4 cup steelcut oats
  • 1/2 cup vegan milk of choice
  • 1 small shredded carrot
  • 1/2 apple (half of it shredded, half cut in chunks)
  • 1 tsp flax seeds
  • 1 tbsp raisins
  • 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, pinch of salt

Place a pot on the stove and fill with oats and milk. Wait until it starts to cook, then toss in ginger, flax seeds, raisins and the apple. Cook until it reaches the desired consistency. Take pot from the stove and stir in cinnamon, salt and the shredded carrots. If you leave this in the fridge overnight (the consistency will be way better), add another tablespoon (or two) of water to the dish before placing in the fridge.

Carrot Cake Oats {raw & vegan}

  • 1/4 cup steelcut oats
  • 1/2 cup nut milk
  • 1 medium sized shredded carrot
  • 1/2 shredded apple
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp raisins (optional)

This recipe works with layers and does look quite pretty afterwards, if you use a dessert glas for it. First start with a layer of steelcut oats (and raisins, if you choose to add them) and 1/4 cup of the nut milk. Above it place the shredded carrot and make the surface even. Then add the shredded apple and sprinkle with chia seeds, ginger and cinnamon. Next pour the remaining nut milk on top, cover with a lid and let soak overnight.

Raw Buckwheat Butternut Porridge

  • 1/4 cup buckwheat groats (soaked in 1/2 cup of water overnight)
  • 1/3 cup butternut squash (peeled and cut into cubes)
  • 1/3 ripe banana
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • pinch of vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • stevia or agave to taste (if the banana doesn’t make it sweet enough for you)

The buckwheat groats should be washed thoroughly after soaking. Having said that, the recipe is a quicky: Place all of the ingredients in a blender and mix until you reached the desired consistency. Add stevia or agave if necessary.

My One Week Detox

As some of you may have read in yesterday’s post, I had some headache and stomach issues during the weekend. Of course those were not unrelated to the alcohol consumption on my brothers birthday, but I am honest enough to admit that this cannot be the only reason. I was not at the top of my game recently, treating my body not with the best food I could and moving not as much as I would have liked to. The launch of Kris Carr’s new website gave me a nice kick in the right direction – I decided that with the start of university this week, I would love to kickstart my diet and excercise routine (with the time I do have at hand).

This detox is not strict nor do I have to get through my days hungry and feeling miserable – this would be the last what I need in my first week of MA classes – but filled with nourishing, vitamin rich foods. I include a lot of green juices and smoothies and took some recipes from Kriss’s page. The main focus is to have every single meal loaded with vegetables or fruits – at least 60% of it. I do try to eat mostly raw in the morning and little cooked at lunch time – my dinner’s are making up for that with mostly soups. On Sunday the week is already over, since me and my boyfriend have a reservation at my favorite vegan café for a late brunch. For those of you who are interested, here is my meal plan for the week: